IEMA Awards Grants to 32 County EMAs
Date: Tuesday, September 19, 2017 @ 10:45:48 CDT
Topic: Press Release

IEMA Awards $500,000 in Grants to 32 County Emergency Management Agencies

Funds will support enhancements to emergency operations centers

SPRINGFIELD - The Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) today awarded a total of $500,000 in grants to 32 county emergency management agencies to enhance their emergency operations centers.

“Emergency Operations Centers are the nerve center for coordinating emergency response efforts,” said IEMA Director James K. Joseph. “We focused these grant awards on counties that most needed basic technology and other equipment to help them serve their residents during emergencies.”

To be considered for a grant, an emergency management agency was required to be compliant with National Incident Management System requirements, have a current, approved emergency operations plan, and have a functional emergency operations center.

Forty-seven emergency management agencies submitted grant applications, which were competitively evaluated by state and local public safety representatives with priority given to counties with the greatest need. Representatives of county and municipal emergency management also provided input on the eligible items list in order to best benefit county emergency management agencies.

Items eligible for purchase with the grant funds include PCs, laptops, projectors, printers, phones, radio base stations, portable projectors, screens, white boards and furniture for the emergency operations center.

Grants were awarded to the following county emergency management agencies:

Alexander County $21,734.30   Edgar County $18,670.00
Brown County $24,995.70   Effingham County $12,400.00
Carroll County $  6,744.00   Fayette County $  9,422.97
Christian County $  5,520.00   Fulton County $14,000.00
Clay County $  5,990.64   Henry County $24,995.28
Coles County $17,838.47   Iroquois County $17,850.00
Cumberland County $12,352.91   Jefferson County $  6,176.77
Jo Daviess County $24,900.00   Perry County $24,982.00
Logan County $12,050.00   Pike County $20,879.40
Marshall County $  9,575.00   Putnam County $24,998.00
Mason County   $21,462.98   Shelby County   $13,322.00
Massac County $  8,200.00   Stephenson County $22,168.47
Menard County $  8,294.00   Wabash County $12,500.00
Mercer County $25,000.00   Wayne County $11,770.00
Monroe County $24,964.45   White County $13,580.00
Montgomery County $16,223.00   Woodford County $  6,439.66


Stephenson County Emergency Management Agency received a $22,000 grant award to support enhancements to its Emergency Operations Center (EOC).

In a press release Monday, September 18, 2017, IEMA announced $500,000 in grants awarded to 32 eligible county emergency management agencies.

This grant will help the county enhance capabilities such as communications, information sharing, and situational assessment through the purchase of much needed equipment and systems for the EOC. Many of these needs have been identified through the completion of after-action reports and improvement plans following drills, exercises, and real-life events and incidents.

This article comes from Stephenson County Emergency Management Agency

The URL for this story is: